RS elections: Congress, BJP nominees to file papers tomorrow

  • RS elections: Congress, BJP nominees to file papers tomorrow

RS elections: Congress, BJP nominees to file papers tomorrow

Congress part on Sunday released a list of 1o candidates for the ensuing Biennial Elections for the 58 Rajya Sabha seats scheduled to take place on March 23.

He said that during the CLP meeting it was made a decision to not pit candidate since BJP also not gave any candidate during election of former Union Minister Anand Sharma and Party member of parliament Ms Viplav Thakur in the past.

There are three Rajya Sabha seats in Himachal and while the Congress has two seats and the BJP has one.

Nearly all the candidates are certain to win due to the partys numerical strength in respective state assemblies, party sources said. The Congress' support comes after BSP chief Mayawati offered a quid pro quo in Rajya Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh.

At present, the opposition Congress and the NCP hold two seats each, while the Shiv Sena and the BJP have apiece each of these six seats of the Upper House of Parliament. He is learnt to have told the Congress high command that the party can easily win three seats. The NDA's electoral wins over the last four years are set to find reflection in the upper house as the BJP is likely to gain seats from Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Haryana, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan and Jharkhand-states it rules, Mint reported. The BJP wants to nurture its own leadership in the Rajbhar community.

The SP, which has 47 MLAs, would be left with 10 surplus first preference votes after backing its candidate Jaya Bachhan and together with seven Congress and one of the RLD, the BSP would be able to get its candidate elected.

Just a day after the Rajya Sabha polls, Congress leader Sonia Gandhi will be holding a dinner on March 13 where she has invited leaders of almost 14 opposition parties.

Elections to the five Rajya Sabha seats from the state became necessary as the terms of Kunal Ghosh, Bibek Gupta and Nadimul Haque of the TMC and Tapan Sen of CPI-M will end on April 2.