Nintendo Switch Is Apparently Resetting Play Times After One Year [UPDATE 3]

  • Nintendo Switch Is Apparently Resetting Play Times After One Year [UPDATE 3]

Nintendo Switch Is Apparently Resetting Play Times After One Year [UPDATE 3]

Many early adopters have seen their playtimes reduced to zero as if they were playing them for the first time.

Reports of Nintendo Switch play data errors began in late February, when data from review copies of The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild were inexplicably reset. These links leave Siliconera.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is getting a licensed messenger bag based on the PowerA Everywhere line of Nintendo Switch carrier bags, created to carry the Nintendo Switch.

That's a hefty price to pay, but after playing the game for hundreds of hours in the past year, and listening to the "Sound Selections" soundtrack, I'd be lying if I said I wasn't at least somewhat tempted.

Nintendo has stated on Twitter that there will be an update coming soon to correct this glitch.

Sometime after that, Nintendo fan magazine Nintendo Force said that the playtime only disappears for ten days, before it comes back on day 11. Now we're taking a look at Bayonetta 2 on the Wii U and Nintendo's current flagship console - the Switch.

Nintendo has inadvertently celebrated the first anniversary of the Switch by resetting activity feed data. That's why our activity log only says when we apparently began playing the game, and not how many hours we've played it for since February 24.

Nintendo acknowledged the issue, and promised more information to come in the near future. In a statement to GameSpot, the company said, "Some Nintendo Switch owners' play activity information is displaying incorrectly".

Nintendo is aware of that problem and is likely working on a fix.

The Nintendo Switch and one of its flagship games, Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild turned one year old this weekend. If you care about preserving a record of your play times, now would be a good opportunity to take screenshots of your user profile before they are reset on the console.