Pakistan's ruling party wins majority seats in Senate

  • Pakistan's ruling party wins majority seats in Senate

Pakistan's ruling party wins majority seats in Senate

Pakistan's ruling party gained control of parliament's upper house in a secret ballot on Saturday (March 3), local media said, in a boost for the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) party ahead of a general election due in summer.

PML-N backed independent candidates have bagged 15 Senate seats across the country according to unofficial and unverified results as more results are expected to come in shortly.

The final results will not immediately show how well PML-N has done because a number of candidates were barred from running under the party's banner following Sharif's disqualification by the Supreme Court last month.

Khan pointed fingers at the PPP, which - quite surprisingly - managed to bag two seats from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa with only seven MPAs in the province.

The counting of the remaining votes was underway.

For 52 seats, 131 contestants are participating in the senate elections.

Talking to media outside National Assembly (NA), Gulalai criticised PTI chief Imran Khan for skipping polling and not arriving at the assembly to cast vote.

Senate has 104 members elected for six years but half of them retire every three years at the completion of their term. The other 52 were elected in 2015 and will serve until 2021.

The main halls of all provincial assemblies have been declared polling stations for the respective provinces and while separate polling stations have been formed in the National Assembly for the election of senators from Fata and Islamabad.

The ECP had given all controlling officers powers of magistrate who can suspend the electoral process in case of irregularity.

Among the candidates, 20 are from the Pakistan People's Party led by Pakistan's former Pakistani President Asif Zardari, 14 from the Mutahidda Qaumi Movement, 13 from Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf, 65 independents and others.

"PML-N now the single largest party in Senate as well", she said. The PML-F adds another five, PkMAP three, National People's Party two, and PML-Zia and the National Party have one lawmaker each on the benches.

Speaking to reporters outside the Sindh Assembly, MQM-P leader Farooq Sattar said that while his party yesterday claimed that they would win all four seats from Sindh, today he would be cautious and say that they are trying to win all four seats. He had been advising the PML-N leadership not to stride the collision course with state institutions including courts.

Among prominent losers included Maulana Samiul Haq, known as the godfather of Taliban, who got just four votes in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa assembly.

Members of the National Assembly will also elect senators for Islamabad and the Federally Administered Tribal Areas.