BJP won because of EVMs, says AAP

  • BJP won because of EVMs, says AAP

BJP won because of EVMs, says AAP

Pointing at possible EVM tampering in the Uttar Pradesh Civic Elections 2017, the former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh said, "We say that BJP's winning percentage is 46% wherever polls were conducted via EVMs and 15% when it was done via ballot papers".

A resurgent Mayawati challenged the BJP and said that her party would sweep the 2019 Lok Sabha polls if voting is done on ballot papers.

While there is no doubt that the BJP had fared very well in the 16 municipal corporations and has succeeded in getting 14 of its mayoral candidates elected, a closer look at the Nagar Palika Parishad and Nagar Panchayat polls paints the picture which is not too comfortable for the rulings dispensation.

Uttam said had Akhilesh Yadav campaigned extensively, the results would have been much different and the BJP would have been wiped out in the urban body polls.

He also claimed that Congress had made a tremendous gain by securing ten percent more votes in the present elections then what they get in last polls still they were projected if they had lost all ground. Giving the results figure, Singh said that out of the total 198 results declared for Nagar Palika chairman, BJP won 68 and lost 125 while for Nagar Palika Parishad member, BJP just won 914 seats and lost 4303 seats.

"Its through these EVMs that the Bahujan Samaj Party won Mayoral election of Aligarh and Meerut".

However, Akhilesh Yadav did not agree that the BJP had improved its showing in the civic polls, that came eight months after Adityanath was sworn in as chief minister. "Otherwise, more of our candidates would have become mayors in the state...and we would have won more seats", she said.

The BJP, however, termed the allegations as baseless and eyewash.

BJP's UP general secretary Vijay Pathak however launched a counter attack on the opposition saying instead of introspecting after the results, these parties were blaming EVMs for their poor performance. The same were used in 2007 Assembly elections where the BSP emerged victorious and formed the government on its own. "The civic elections results clearly show that both SP and Congress have lost their janadhaar, while BSP is on revival course".