Nagaland's U-19 Girls Cricket Team Bundled Out For Just 2 Runs

  • Nagaland's U-19 Girls Cricket Team Bundled Out For Just 2 Runs

Nagaland's U-19 Girls Cricket Team Bundled Out For Just 2 Runs

A total of two runs, and an innings that lasted for seventeen overs featuring ten ducks - that was how the Under-19 Nagaland women team fared against Kerala at the ongoing BCCI Women's Under-19 One-Day League and Knockout Tournament.

Nine players of the Nagaland team were dismissed for duck, with Kerala skipper Minnu Mani as the pick of the bowlers as she bagged four wickets without conceding any run, ESPNcricinfo reported.

Surendran was the only bowler to concede any runs and not take any wickets for Kerala in the match, as she finished with figures of 3-2-2-0.

Making their debut in the tournament, Nagaland's farcical innings lasted just 17 overs - 16 of them maidens - with the solitary run off the bat being scored by opener Menka, who returned as the top, and the only scorer, from her side. Also, there was a wide ball bowled by the bowler which added to the total and they could starkingly muster only two runs in a One-Day game.

Kerala coach Suman Sharma hailed her girls for their effort.

Both sides came into the match having lost their opening three games of the tournament but it was Nagaland who remained winless after an embarrassing defeat. Kerala took less than two minutes and a ball to win the low-scoring match.

Nagaland women, on the other hand, looked just hapless and no batter could stop the procession.

At present, the state has two players- Tahmeed and Petinezo Rupereo - in the combined U-19 team of NE and Bihar.

However, limited infrastructure, lack of facilities, absence of human resource in coaching and training and lack of funds are some of the challenges faced by the association, Jamir stated in the statement.

Records are meant to be broken and the cricket match played between Nagaland and Kerala will stand as of now. Nagaland made it to the Super League stage after finishing second in the North-East Championship, behind Bihar.