Kenya's Kamworor wins New York Marathon men's crown

  • Kenya's Kamworor wins New York Marathon men's crown

Kenya's Kamworor wins New York Marathon men's crown

As she crossed the finish line, Flanegan had tears in her eyes, crying and wrapping herself in an American flag when she realized that she had come first in a race with over 50,000 competitors.

Marblehead native Shalane Flanagan won the New York City Marathon on Sunday, becoming the first American woman in 40 years to accomplish that feat. The last time that happened was in 1977, when Miki Gorman won - for the second year in a row - with a time of 2:43:10.

Kenya's Mary Keitany, bidding for her fourth consecutive victory in the race, was 61 seconds back in second.

Flanagan previously finished second in the 2010 NYC Marathon. She was attempting to join Grete Waitz of Norway as the only women to compile a winning streak of at least four. Flanagan's time is the second fastest time ever clocked by a US woman in the race.

Kamworor was also in the 2014 Berlin Marathon field that saw compatriot Dennis Kimetto breaking the world record in 2:02:57.

Hug, who won last year's race by sixth hundredths of a second, finished over two minutes clear of Canada's Josh Cassidy to win his third NY title.

On the men's side, Geoffrey Kamworwor was the victor in an unofficial 2:10:53, three years faster than Wilson Kipsang in a race that marked the 26th and final marathon as a professional for Meb Keflezighi, Now 42, the man whose bib says simply "Meb", won the NYC marathon in 2009 and the Boston Marathon in 2014. A pack of nine competitors consistently jockeyed with Keitany for the lead, including three runners making their NY debut: Kenya's Betsy Saina; Ethiopia's Mamitu Daska; and Sara Dossena, an Italian triathlete.