Daigle Falls in NCAA Singles; Doubles Next

  • Daigle Falls in NCAA Singles; Doubles Next

Daigle Falls in NCAA Singles; Doubles Next

Florida captured its first NCAA women's tennis title since 2012, beating defending national champion Stanford 4-1 Tuesday night.

"I didn't think it would come down to me, but I just kept on fighting", Neel said. "It was really a tribute to our team, the character we have and the mental toughness we continued to have the entire season".

The Tar Heels will not be favored in the match, but that certainly hasn't stopped them thus far during their magical run through the tournament.

The Bulldogs (22-8) were three points from elimination as sophomore Jan Zielinski entered his second set of singles play. North Carolina won more games than it ever has in program history (33) and garnered its second consecutive and eighth all-time ACC Tournament Championship in the process.

The Cavaliers took a hard-fought doubles point, clinching the early lead with a tiebreak victory, 7-6 (5), on the second court by seniors Thai-Son Kwiatkowski (Charlotte, N.C.) and Alexander Ritschard (Zurich, Switzerland). Furman and Stachowiak earned the highest-ranked doubles win of their careers versus No. 19 Eddy Covalschi and Josh Hagar of Notre Dame with 6-2 victory as Duke went on to upset the Fighting Irish 4-3. They won a very close match to get that victory. All singles players must have a minimum of 13 completed singles matches, with six matches in the spring, in order to be selected as an automatic qualifier or an at-large selection.

The Tar Heels cut UVa's margin to 3-2, setting up the final drama.

Altamirano won his match over Soendergaard 6-3, 6-1 on court 4 to give Virginia a 3-1 lead.

Auburn's Conner Huertas del Pino and Max Hinnisdaels are among the 32 doubles teams competing in the 2017 NCAA Division I Men's Tennis Championships beginning Thursday at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga. "They have taken us to incredible places, three quarterfinals in the NCAA tournament, finals here and a national championship previous year at the ITA Indoors". In doubles, a 10-point match tiebreaker will be played in lieu of a third set.