Brisk voting in UP, Manipur registers 10% till 8AM

  • Brisk voting in UP, Manipur registers 10% till 8AM

Brisk voting in UP, Manipur registers 10% till 8AM

Polling began at 7 am and continued till 3 pm.

Meanwhile, workers of two political parties clashed in Thangmeiband assembly constituency in which Congress workers reportedly attacked a candidate of People's Resurgence and Justice Alliance (PRJA) who was reportedly injured.

An elderly man being assisted to a polling station in Keirao Assembly Constituency in Imphal East district on Saturday, March 4.

Manipur will vote for the second phase of the assembly elections on March 8 and the votes will be counted on March 11.

The polling percentage on these 49 seats was 55.04 in the 2012 state assembly polls. Reacting to the economic blockade and the Naga Peace Accord, which led to massive violence in the state last month, political parties such as Congress and BJP continuously blamed each other during their election campaigns.

Only the Congress and BJP are locked in straight fight in three constituencies-Sekmai, Nambol and Mayang Imphal in the first round of the elections. "We had urged him to take security but he refused", said the Chief Electoral Officer. State chief electoral officer (CEO) Vivek Kumar Dewangan said elaborate arrangements have been made to ensure free, fair and peaceful polls.

A total of 11,32,525 votes including 7084 service electors were eligible for casting votes in the first phase poll in which voting was conducted in 1643 stations located in 1291 locations.

Altogether 8,408 personnel of the central paramilitary forces were deployed for peaceful conduct of the election. Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi had accused the BJP of "compromising with the territorial integrity" of Manipur.

In another incident, some unidentified persons opened fire at the house of Yumkham Erabot, a former Congress minister and now a BJP candidate at 3.20 a.m. The seven districts - Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Deoria, Azamgarh, Mau and Ballia - which went to polls in this phase present a fertile landscape but rank very low on development scale.

In all, there were 168 candidates in the fray for Saturday's polls, out of which seven were women. Irom Sharmila, a Manipuri activist who was on a hunger strike against AFSPA for 16 years, broke her fast this year, to form a political party with the aim of repealing the Act from Manipur.

Among those candidates contesting are congress candidate Th.Lokeshwar of Khundrakpam Assembly Constituency, who is also the speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly, and other congress Ministers, I Hemochandra of Singjamei Ac, MPCC president TN Haokip, Works Mnister KH Ratankumar, Commerce and Industries Minister K Govindas, IFCD Minister Ngamthang Haokip and Social Welfare Minister AK Mirabai, who is also one among the two lady candidates of Congress party.