Did You Know Facebook Messenger Lets You Send Secret Conversations?

  • Did You Know Facebook Messenger Lets You Send Secret Conversations?

Did You Know Facebook Messenger Lets You Send Secret Conversations?

A Facebook Spokesperson spoke with WIRED explaining the company just finished rolling out "Secret Conversations" to all 900 million Facebook Messenger users in the past few weeks.

Let us see how to have a secret conversation of Facebook with this new feature. Now, choose the contact you want to start an encrypted conversation with, and you're on your way.

Though the feature has been rolled out globally, unlike WhatsApp, it isn't enabled by default for each conversation.

This story, "How to encrypt your Facebook messages with Secret Conversations" was originally published by PCWorld. At the very top of the screen you will be shown that a secret conversation with the person is taking place. Once it is, Secret Conversations are enabled for your device. This option might be present at top or bottom locations, depending on your device (Android or iOS).

"Secret conversations can only be read on one device and we recognise that experience may not be right for everyone".

As Facebook looks to add more services to its popular Messenger app, the chat service is increasingly becoming part of e-commerce.

Attention mode secret conversations does not work for group conversations and does not encrypt the transmission of video, GIF or voice messages. This means that if you so choose, no one, including Facebook, can see your messages-not even the NSA.

If you're not seeing the new feature, make sure that Facebook Messenger on your device is running the latest update of the app. The feature was first announced in July, which is also when the first tests were launched. There's no word on what happens to Windows Phone (or Windows 10 Mobile, as they like to call it now) users.

Secret Conversations are based on the Signal protocol.

For additional security, you can also allocate a timer to your Secret Conversation, which means your message will be completely deleted after the allocated time has run. Even Facebook will not be able to access these messages and they won't be saved in the company's data servers either. You can set the timer anywhere from 5 seconds to 1 day.